Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

No one’s pumpkin pie can ever compare to Mom’s — what we grow up with is the “right” way.  I typed up Mom’s recipe, as insurance against loss of the scrap of paper, then decided that sharing it is the best insurance.  

I’ll add a little story . . . (surprised?)  When my niece Joy was little, I flew home for Christmas. It was the ’70’s, when airlines still fed passengers.  I was too full for dessert, so I put mine, which was well-wrapped, in my purse for later.  When my sister and I walked in Mom’s kitchen, Joy was saying to my mother, “I want some brown pie.”  Mom explained that she had developed a taste for pumpkin pie (my favorite), “but that was Thanksgiving.  We don’t have any more,” which was when I reached in my purse and produced my slice of pumpkin pie.  Joy was convinced that I had a magic purse . . . perhaps the real magic was in willingly giving away my favorite dessert. 

Merry Christmas, and may all your wishes come true!Image

 

Pumpkin Pie (Mom’s)

1 1/2 cups pumpkin  

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. ginger

1/8 tsp. allspice

2 TBLSP molasses

3 eggs, beaten

1 cup evap. milk

(whole can & 5 eggs to fill 2 pie crusts)

Combine all but eggs and milk, mix — add e&M  (or blend it all at once in blender)

Pour into unbaked pie shells (don’t prick shells) 

Bake 425 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until knife inserted comes out clean . . .

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Naomi Baltuck
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 01:57:07

    Adorable!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 14:12:15

    Thanks, pal! Happy holidays to you!

    Reply

  3. grannysu
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:24:25

    I love this story. Pumpkin pie is my favorite too. I have never put molasses in it but that sounds interesting. I might have to try it next baking day. Merry Christmas, Mary!

    Reply

  4. storytellermary
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:51:34

    Thanks, Sue. I like it with molasses, but some don’t. I’ve also cut back a bit on the sugar . . . especially when using sweetened whipped cream.

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:36:57

    Thank you for the lovely story and recipe Mary. My son always insists on my pumpkin pie during the holiday, no “store bought” will do. It makes my heart smile every time he asks for it. I just may have to try your mom’s this season. 🙂

    Karen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

