But I wasn’t telling stories then . . .

Image

But I wasn’t telling stories then . . .

A former student found me online before it was common to search for people online.  He sent a surprise email of the kind that teachers cherish, but one phrase gave me pause, “I’ll always remember all the stories you told us.”

I didn’t think I was telling stories to classes then because I had bought into the notion that junior high (and later high school) students were “too old for stories.”  THEY ARE NOT!!

I realized that I had been slipping in anecdotes as subjects came up.  Instead of “once upon a time,” stories at the older grades begin, “That reminds me of,” and the power of story to capture attention and help learning “stick” is just as powerful.  Students would remember a story for months and sometimes repeat practically word for word.  Worksheets, not so much.  Thanks, Woody Sebastian, for letting me know 😉

More on classroom storytelling https://storytellermary.wordpress.com/programs-and-workshops/

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam Faro
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 11:16:08

    Important, powerful, and fun! (And I love telling stories to junior high/middle-schoolers!) Enjoyed this post, thanks! – Pam (http://www.storycrossings.com/blog/)

    Reply

  2. Mars
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 13:16:55

    Teachers who told stories generally brought the subject to life… good for you!

    Mars, visiting from the A to Z challenge
    Curling Stones for Lego People

    Reply

Leave a Reply

