Equal Rights for Women  

 

Image

The metal pendant was made by a friend in his machine shop and the wooden one was carved by another friend from aged wood from a barn.

 

My trick question for my American Lit. class when we read Abigail Adams’ plea to “remember the ladies” was how long did it take for women to get equal rights?  Bless them, they tried . . . and when I said, “still waiting . . .,”  they were amazed and a little upset.

 

We have come far . . .  I remember high school “career counseling.”   Women’s choices were teacher, nurse, secretary, waitress.  A Junior Achievement higher-up told me I had little chance of winning an award as V.P. of Production and that I should have been secretary.  Help wanted ads separated into male and female.

 

In the ‘70s our U of Minnesota Women’s Liberation group was active, working on raising our consciousness, learning to be assertive, speaking up for equality and opportunity.  One chant stays in my mind:

 

Women unite, stand up and fight,
out of the shadows and into the light!

 

We have farther to go . . .

 

** Grammatical aside **  I once corrected a student for putting a period after Ms because when feminists started using Ms in the ’70s, we distinguished it from the ms. that meant manuscript.  He politely (and with delight) showed me that Ms. Garrett is now the accepted form.  It provided a perfect example of how language changes as it is used.  Funny ol’ world, ain’t it?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stepheny Houghtlin
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 11:21:19

    Stopping by on the 5th day of the #atozchallenge while looking for fellow writers. Congratulations on your blog. I know you are going to make new blogging friends this month. I’m writing about gardening and related topics and having a wonderful time. If you have time or interest, come and visit.

    Reply

  2. ellouise schoettler
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 12:41:57

    Remember the same things you do – thanks for sharing and reminding. Recognize that large metal pendant – have on to match. So glad to see you could not toss your’s out either. Connections.

    Reply

  3. storytellermary
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 13:25:57

    The metal pendant was made by a friend in his machine shop and the wooden one was carved by another friend from aged wood from a barn.

    Reply

  4. Stephen Tremp
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 10:40:14

    Hi Mary and welcome to the A to Z Challenge! We have your other link in our A to Z Linky List. We’ll make the change today so others can find your posts easier.

    Reply

  5. Stephen Tremp
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 08:13:50

    At this point I gave up with Mr. Mrs. Ms. and Ms … now I just call people by their first names. Love me or leave me, but I only call people by their first names now.

    Reply

    • storytellermary
      Apr 08, 2014 @ 08:33:59

      You’ve reminded me of former students’ attempts to move past the formality of “Ms Garrett” . . . one managed it by beginning with Mary Garrett as the intermediate title.
      The reverse happened when neighborhood children came to the high school . . .

      Reply

Leave a Reply

