Feminists All 

mzi.jufawgbs.170x170-75

An impromptu discussion of feminism once began in my Shakespeare class when the young woman playing Portia in The Merchant of Venice started to tell a joke and then stopped herself because, “it’s sort of anti-feminist.”

“Good decision!  I was a campus leader for equal rights in the 70s,” led to, “So what is Feminism really?”

Students were sure there must be more to it than just equal rights, until one young man consulted the dictionary, read the definition out loud, and proposed a vote, in which the whole class declared themselves to be feminists.

I told them that if we could have known in the ’70s that an average (okay above — it was a Shakespeare class) group of students would so spontaneously advocate for feminism, we would have been quite encouraged.

It has long been true that rational men support rights for all.  Both my “women’s lib” pendants were made by male friends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Jimmy Carter’s new book A Call to Action brings more reinforcements to the fight.

Interview on NPR only increases my admiration for his work.

http://www.npr.org/2014/03/22/292429202/jimmy-carter-issues-call-to-action-against-subjugation-of-women

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ellouise schoettler
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 19:55:28

    I share your admiration for President Jimmy Carter and his willingness to use his “bully pulpit” to speak up for the abuses against women. I must say I have thought highly of him since the 1970s when I worked for the LWVUS on the ERA Campaign. He supported the ERA then too – there were weekly meetings at the White House on campaign strategy and reports on how things were going. Once I sat at the Oval table and reported on the League’s project, The National Business Council – it was a thrill! I guess tghat qualifies as a bit of my early storytelling.

    Reply

  2. ellouise schoettler
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 19:56:29

    I guess that would more correctly be – that he is speaking up against the abuses against women.

    Reply

  3. storytellermary
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 20:02:33

    Yes, against the abuses and for the women . . . but we knew what you meant. Thanks for writing, Ellouise! Hugs!

    Reply

  4. Naomi Baltuck
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 21:39:12

    I love Jimmy too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

