Tales Out of School — Stories Make the World Go Around

April 2015 A to Z Blogging — Theme Reveal     Tales Out of School     A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

I have found myself reminiscing about my teaching years, not surprising since teaching was what I wanted to do with my life from the day I walked into kindergarten.  No other work gave me the satisfaction of teaching, and no other work was as challenging, truly (to borrow from Peace Corp) “the toughest job you’ll ever love.”

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I like the April A-Z Alphabetical Challenge because of the feeling of all being in it together, writing, reading, playing with words, experimenting, all while facing the added challenge of writing to the alphabet.  It reminds me a bit of writing classes in which I gave my students broad guidelines and let them develop what they wanted.  Half the fun is seeing what the others do.

 

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lanise Brown
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 17:27:33

    Hi Mary. I’m glad the A to Z Challenge is bringing back some fond memories. I look forward to hearing about your tales out of school. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Corinne Rodrigues
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 00:37:09

    Looking forward to reading your posts, Mary. I used to be a teacher too!

    Reply

  3. betty
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 23:55:40

    I always admire teachers!! Great theme for the challenge! Have fun with it!

    betty

    Reply

  4. Tamara Gerber
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 06:48:54

    I agree, teaching people – young and older – is one of the most rewarding things to do in life.
    If you like to write and play with words, you might want to join a group of bloggers I am a contributor to. We do a monthly challenge that is called USE YOUR WORDS. Here’s an example: http://thethreegerbers.blogspot.ch/2015/01/use-your-words-caribbean-cruise.html

    Reply

  5. Nilanjana Bose
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 01:48:38

    Stories DO make the world go round! Your title/theme reminded me of some of mine (student, not a teacher!) Lovely theme. Nice to meet you through the A-Z.
    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.

    Reply

    • storytellermary
      Mar 26, 2015 @ 09:00:39

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing your poem pairings. I’m reminded of faculty/student art shows. April is going to be fun! (I tried to post on your blog, but not sure it worked).

      Reply

  6. Paula Kaye
    Mar 31, 2015 @ 11:32:45

    I’m dropping by from the A to Z Blogging Challenge Theme Reveal. Looking forward to your writings. I love stories. And teachers! Good luck

    Reply

Leave a Reply

