Difficult Students/Discipline/Dedicated / Tales Out of School

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

Difficult Students/Discipline/Dedicated / Tales Out of School

I once told my junior high students that “dedicated” meant “crazy” and that they should use that word often. Examples: “You’re really dedicated if you think I’ll do all this homework.” . . . and to the principal, “Ms. Garrett is the most dedicated teacher I’ve ever seen.” They knew I was kidding but also saw the logic in the wordplay. A friend’s doctor said of the “Is this person mentally competent to teach?” question on the required physical, “Trick question! You have to be crazy to want to.”

A student shared with me the wisdom of Jan Freeman, assistant principal, that the best discipline is self-discipline. I would remind students that when they exercised the best, I wouldn’t have to resort to second best.

When I told stories to my high school classes, I let them know that I couldn’t tell and discipline so they had to help set the stage. I only once had to ask a disruptive student to wait in the hall, and his friends, bless them, made sure he was sorry, “Oh, man, it was so good . . . and you missed it.”

Simply love them, love them . . . I usually found that the ones that were hardest to love had been through more than I’ve ever had to handle. The ones who were merely different were usually the most fun, and made me wonder what exciting things they would do in life.

A principal once chided a troublesome student for getting in trouble in my class, “Son, I don’t get it. Miss Garrett would let the devil himself stay in her room as long as he did his work and didn’t bother the others.” He might have also threatened a transfer to a less understanding teacher. The young man came back and behaved.

A friend once said, “You don’t draw the line often, but when you do, people heed it.”

Mary teaching Brandy and Veronica

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lanise Brown
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 03:48:26

    Ah, yes, dedication and self discipline go hand-in-hand. Neat post, Mary. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

