“Excessive Good Behavior”/Equal rights / Tales Out of School

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Excessive Good Behavior”/Equal rights / Tales Out of School

My trick question in my Am Lit. class was “When did Abigail Adams’ plea for equal rights under the Constitution come true?” Students tried so hard to come up with an answer, most tending toward the 1920s or 1860s, then were shocked to find we are still waiting for an Equal Rights Amendment . . .

An impromptu discussion in my Shakespeare class began when the student reading Portia’s part (wisely) decided not to share an anti-feminist joke with me before class.  I commended her decision, adding, “I was a founding member of the U of Minnesota’s feminist group.”  She asked for a definition, and I told her, “Equal rights, equal pay.” By then the rest of the class was there.  “That can’t be all it means.”  One young man looked it up in the dictionary, read it aloud, and said, “I am one,” raising his hand.  The whole class agreed — all feminists.  I told them that if we could have foreseen them in the ’70s, we would have been so encouraged.  (Both women’s liberation pendants pictured were made by male supporters of equality back in the ’70s).

I once wrote a discipline slip for a junior high student who was bemoaning the fact that she hadn’t gotten in trouble ever and wouldn’t want to in high school because then it would be part of her “permanent record.” I designated her offense as “excessive good behavior” and the principal loved it. It is quite often true that the good kids don’t get enough attention.

Another principal, reading the awards list, realized he’d never met a particularly wonderful student and had him called to the office.  The whole class and I were all a bit shocked until he returned to reassure us that all was well.

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. QueasyPeasy
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 23:13:19

    Excessive Good Behaviour. I like it and yes the well-behaved kids often miss out on recognition if they’re travelling in the middle of the pack. Visiting from A – Z Blogging Challenge 2015 🙂 (Linda)

    Reply

  2. shawn
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 07:42:00

    That is awesome! I am writing a book about character and my hope is that we (society) can learn to recognize,promote and encourage good character behaviors! Thanks for a lovely A-to-Z post.

    Reply

  3. storytellermary
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 11:38:53

    Thanks! I found that the only stories I ever wanted to tell were those that had positive messages.

    Reply

  4. Lanise Brown
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 03:51:16

    Excessive good behavior. Haha! That’s adorable. I wished some of my teachers did that in school. I think a lot of kids need that type of encouragement. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

