Gifts / Tales Out of School

IMG_0129

Gifts / Tales Out of School

Junior high students early in my teaching years collected change from their lunch money to gIve me a TV tray with Tom Selleck’s photo on it. They were following up on a running joke that their homework would be graded and returned by Monday . . . unless Tom called. I still have it.

When my mom was sick, students gave me cards and flowers and kindness, and a Chicken Soup for the Soul book.

When I retired, a student gave me a basket of gifts, including Sleepy Time Tea because I’d have time to rest. Another organized her whole class to sign a good-bye poster. Once, when a student not getting his way told me “That’s why you have no credibility with your students,” a colleague gave me a certificate of credibility signed by several colleagues. My students enhanced the gift by asking if they could sign it also.

Through the years, there were gifts of food, coffee mugs, stitchery, cards. Even better were the notes and verbal appreciation from parents and students. Every teacher I know has a little file of positive notes, the antidote for dark days.

Best of all was the trust inherent in putting one’s thoughts, a part of one’s self, on paper. A favorite moment was when a student told me I had shown her she could express herself in writing as she did in dance.

The real gift was the opportunity to work, discuss, share, and grow and learn together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ramona DeFelice Long
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 11:53:24

    What lovely memories, Mary! I love the Tom Selleck TV tray. Young people are sweet and generous.

    Reply

  2. storytellermary
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 16:22:22

    Thanks, Ramona. School, like all of life, is made of such lovely giving and receiving.

    Reply

  3. Lanise Brown
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 03:59:19

    How nice. That is so sweet of your students to be so caring. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

