Love / Tales Out of School

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love / Tales Out of School

I used to tell students who asked to call home that if they called during my class time, they had to tell their moms and dads that they loved them. One young man said, “I always do.” I predict he’ll do well. I also told them that if they were asking for delivery of something they forgot, they owed a return favor, and most agreed.

Sam Austin, my first principal, observed my class and said, “It’s clear that you love your students. You will be able to touch them with discipline because you’ve first touched with love.” I loved them so much that I didn’t want to let them go at the end of the year, but they gently informed me that it was time for summer vacation and I’d be okay.

High school students aren’t used to being loved, but they still need it. I witnessed a very angry sophomore become sweet and cooperative when I delivered a message from his fourth grade teacher, “Mrs. R. loves you.” Writing is a scary thing, putting one’s soul on paper, but he did all assignments for the rest of the year, with that message keeping him safe.

That transformation made me a believer in the power of love, even if it resulted in odd conversations like, “Here’s your detention, but I still love you.”
“You mean like.”
“ . . . no I like ice cream, a bit too much perhaps. People deserve to be loved.”

Mom for years had a Curtis cartoon on her fridge that began with Curtis complaining about his parents’ rules, then saying, “No one cares what my friends do,” and then hugging his mom. One of my students said he understood that his parents and I fussed at him because we cared, “but sometimes I wish so many people didn’t care so much about me.” I could tell he didn’t mean it.
A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lanise Brown
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 03:22:55

    Aww. There needs to be more teachers like you, Mary. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 07:37:10

    I keep children from Newborns thru 12 years in my home and I had a little girl once who would always come to the door saying “I’m Home”. Talk about making someone feel loved. I love my job!

    Reply

  3. Megan Morgan
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 09:52:54

    What a wonderful post! Love heals so many things!

    Reply

  4. MaryHill
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 07:26:05

    Feeling and being loved is so important. I love this post. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

