Quiet / Quitters / Tales Out of School

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quiet / Quitters / Tales Out of School

Early on I was advised to “decide the level of noise you are comfortable with” . . . and then try to achieve that. During my enthusiastic student teaching, I encouraged a greater degree of noisy participation, and received complaints from the next-door teachers’ lounge.

I did learn to match expectations to the needs of an activity, silence for tests and quiet reading time, “12 inch voices” with desks touching for group work, respectful listening to anyone, student or teacher, presenting to the class. Overall, a fairly sedate atmosphere, to the degree that two young men once stormed out of the short stories class when asked to do silent reading, no talking. The rest of the class laughed . . . and returned to reading.

I said once to a student whose class the previous period had been with a very energetic colleague that I admired her and wished to be more like her. He said, “No, don’t! I can’t take that every hour.”

Picture 1

A student recommended Stephen King’s “Quitters’ Inc,” from Night Shift. “I know you don’t like Stephen King, but you’ll like this.”

We know when to trust our students. King’s work was often too intense for me and was the warning example of my “G-rating” request to writing students.

She was right. That story was definitely a welcome exception. Good discussions came from that story. Do the ends justify the means? How high are the costs of smoking? Would a wife really be so forgiving? One year I was given “Stop smoking” stickers to hand out, and most of the students took one.
http://mrfitton.weebly.com/uploads/1/7/5/8/17583739/quitters_inc._text.pdf

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynneinpborough
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 00:08:37

    I like the sentence in your needlepoint picture, it’s a good reminder.
    Quiet is something I’ve rarely been in my life, but now I love it and have come to avoid more noisy spaces. this morning the noise that I welcomed and love listening to was the dawn chorus. Something I’m hearing more while doing the AtoZ. Hope you’re having a good one.

    Reply

  2. storytellermary
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17:33

    Also glad you like the crewel piece, probably the most complex I have done, and a needed reminder not to hold on too tight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

