Walden Pond/ Weird / Tales Out of School

IMG_0102OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walden Pond/ Weird / Tales Out of School

Henry David Thoreau said: “In winter we lead a more inward life. Our hearts are warm and cheery, like cottages under drifts, whose windows and doors are half concealed, but from whose chimneys the smoke cheerfully ascends.”

When I watch the little pond, which I have named Walden, freeze and then thaw to welcome geese, I think of Thoreau. I do feel warm and cozy, with much to do, some “have to” and some “want to.” Three guesses which get priority . . .

I used to tell students that if they really understood the unit on Transcendentalism, they’d all probably walk out of the school. Then the reality of consequences would rear its ugly head, and we’d all stay in the classroom. Pass me some more Soma please. https://skipmendler.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/education-should-be-dangerous/

Thoreau said to distrust any enterprise that required new clothes. My friend Chris Crow said he chose shoes with the goal of still being able to smile at his last-period class. Comfort is a necessary component of such active work, “on” non-stop all day. A parent once described some of our teachers as looking like “aging hippies.” I’ll accept that, if it leaves me able to focus on the students instead of my self, and “You’re weird” ranked as the highest possible compliment from the most discerning students.

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_nA2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shailaja/ The Moving Quill
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:39:34

    I remember reading Thoreau back in college and not being ready for him. Today, I think I would be able to relate to him a lot more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

