Zzzzz/Alarm clocks / Tales Out of School

IMG_0190

Zzzzz/Alarm clocks / Tales Out of School

Classes started at 7:25, teachers were supposed to be in school half an hour before that. Those early times were hard on all of us. One student failed American Lit. three times . . . all three times he was scheduled for first period. Why he wasn’t moved to a later class, I’ll never know. Another young man quit his late-night job at a filling station in order to pass and graduate. His father made up the monetary difference for him, a good investment!

Toward the end of the final week of my teaching career, I looked at my sleepy first period students, raised my fist in the air and vowed, “As God is my witness, I’ll never set my alarm for 5 a.m. again.” They clapped. I’ve kept that vow . . . well, mostly.
There was that one early flight to Hawaii, but I fudged and set the alarm for 5:05 😉

. . . Thanks to all who organized the A-Z Blog Challenge

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Kuentz
    Apr 29, 2015 @ 20:46:24

    Aloha! I’m with you on the alarm setting – as a teacher for 33 years, my alarm was set for 5:00a.m. and I probably didn’t get home till 6:00p.m. most nights – hard to believe that was my life – loved every minute when I was actually with the kids! I’ve enjoyed your posts Mary! We did it! Mahalo, Sue @Door2LoreSue
    PowerofStoryBlog – Every Hero Has a Story

    Reply

  2. Jeffrey Scott
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 07:11:25

    Getting up early is such a chore and yet I do it almost every day to work on writing before I leave for my normal job, which I need to be at by 8:00. I hate that alarm clock sometimes.

    Reply

  3. greyzoned/angelsbark
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 17:34:57

    I am so not a morning person! Enjoyed your post and glad I found your blog. Congrats on making it to the end of the A-Z Challenge. What a ride, huh?
    Hope to see you around…
    Michele at Angels Bark

    Reply

  4. ahanamukherjee
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 22:31:01

    I am not a morning person at all and it really is crazy to wake up so early.

    Reply

  5. sharybary
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 23:21:07

    Wise people write short blogs posts! This is a fun one! Congratulations on completing A to Z! Now we can all get more Zzzzzzz’s!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

