Typing / Trust / Tales Out of School

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Typing / Trust / Tales Out of School

I was a secretary for Prudential right after college. Most female liberal arts graduates in the ‘70s became secretaries, back when want ads were still divided by gender.

When teaching jobs finally became available after a few years of school Reductions In Force, one of my students looked at one of my blue dittos and said, “I see why you aren’t a secretary any more.” Hats off to those who work in offices, and appreciation for the students whose humor put smiles on my face . . . and hurrah for computers and word processing and no more scraping the back of blue dittos!

I remember when all teachers had autonomy to plan and implement lessons as needed to reach and encourage the unique students in our classes.
I remember my very favorite principal entering my room amidst apparent chaos, blinking, giving me whatever he’d come for, and never even asking what it was all about because he knew/trusted it was something worthwhile.
I would sometimes ask reluctant scholars to trust me on a lesson for which they could not immediately see the value.
When I first heard of scripted curriculum, I was appalled. Human beings, teachers and learners, are not cogs in a machine.
I left several copies of Donald Davis’ Ride the Butterflies in my school as hope for a return to creativity.

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2015] - Life is Good

11084301_10152820080385028_48227205056877781_n

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynneinpborough
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 22:31:24

    I went to typing classes after school in prep to be a secretary. I’d not have made a good one but the skills of touch typing come in handy now and it amazes me more people aren’t taught how to type given our reliant on the keyboard.

    Reply

  2. storytellermary
    Apr 25, 2015 @ 15:26:13

    I took typing in summer school as soon as I was eligible to do so. Dad figured it would help me with my papers for school, and it also meant I could type his stories. I think it’s taught now as keyboarding, still part of the business department at high school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

